Search term

Formula E Monaco Formula E returns to the most famous city circuit

Pressrelease Stage Image

2019-05-08 | Herzogenaurach

  • Round nine of the fully electric racing series season
  • Title race remains as close as never before
  • Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler continues fightback

Round nine of the season next Saturday (May 11) marks Formula E’s return to an illustrious venue: for the third time after 2015 and 2017, the fully electric racing series is held in Monaco – on a shortened version of motor racing’s most famous city circuit. Car races have been held in the heart of the principality on the French Riviera since 1929. The Circuit de Monaco is laid out directly around the harbor and, besides Silverstone and Monza, is the oldest Grand Prix circuit.

In Monaco, the Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler team will continue its fightback in what has so far been the closest title race in Formula E history. The reigning teams’ champions, Lucas di Grassi and Daniel Abt, are currently in fourth and eighth place of the drivers’ standings. Both still have title chances in the remaining five of 13 races. Each of this season’s eight races held to date has seen a different winner. Lucas di Grassi (one victory, one runner-up finish) and Daniel Abt (third-placed twice) have each mounted the podium on two occasions. In Monaco, his adopted country, Lucas di Grassi finished runner-up in Formula E in 2015 and in 2017.

This is Formula E

Formula E is an FIA-sanctioned motor racing series for fully electric cars. In 2018/2019, Formula E season five, eleven teams and 22 drivers are on the grid. Formula E races worldwide on temporary circuits in the hearts of metropolises such as Hong Kong, Berlin and New York City. From December 15, 2018, until July 14, 2019, the ABB FIA Formula E Championship is holding 13 rounds at twelve venues. Each race lasts 45 minutes, plus one lap.

Schaeffler in Formula E

Schaeffler is one of the co-founders and one of the most notable and successful players in Formula E, which was established in 2014. In 2016/2017, Team Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler won the drivers’ title (Lucas di Grassi) and in 2017/2018, the teams’ title (Lucas di Grassi/Daniel Abt). Schaeffler has been contributing its know-how to the development of the powertrain of Team Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler’s race cars since 2015. In doing so, the company demonstrates its expertise in forward-thinking technologies and presents ideas for sustainable mobility for tomorrow in the innovative electric racing series as well.

The new Formula E technology

In season five, Formula E is entering its second era. The most conspicuous innovation for 2018/2019 going forward: Every driver has only one race car anymore. The reason is that the second-generation cars mark the end of the mid-race car swaps previously required at each Formula E event because the battery capacity is now sufficient for the entire race distance. New as well starting this season is the cars’ futuristic design without a rear wing, plus the Halo protection system above the cockpit.

The new Audi e-tron FE05 was meticulously developed by Audi Sport and Schaeffler with the new technical and strategic challenges in mind. The motor-generator unit named Audi Schaeffler MGU03, the centerpiece of the Audi e-tron FE05, was jointly developed by the two technology partners. 95 percent of all powertrain components are new, having resulted in weight savings of ten percent. Two Audi e-tron FE05 cars are fielded by the Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler factory team for Lucas di Grassi and Daniel Abt.

Additional information

Video featuring an emotional recollection of four years of Schaeffler and Formula E

Publisher: Schaeffler Technologies AG & Co. KG
Country: Germany


Package (Press release + media)

Share Page

Schaeffler applies cookies to secure an optimal use. With the further use of this website you accept the application of cookies. More Information